A List of Disorganized Thoughts: Ready Player One

I’ve been watching a lot of movies recently, thanks primarily to a certain subscription service that lets you go to the movies however often you’d like for less than you’re paying for Netflix. I’m not a film critic, I’m really just some guy– so don’t take anything I say too seriously:

  1. I wasn’t entirely sold on the characters or the world itself at first. There was a point during the first half of the film where I turned to my wife and said “Okay, I care now.”
  2. It kinda felt like Jumanji: Welcome to the Jungle, in a way. It had clear structure based on video game levels, and it helped… push things along? Like the run time is 139 minutes, but I don’t feel like I was sitting on my ass that long.
  3. I think I liked Jumanji better. It’s tough to say?
  4. At the very least, if you took the Rock, Jack Black, Karen Gillan, and Chris Rock and stuck them into Ready Player One, it’d probably be a better movie.
  5. The music choices were fun. The “We’re Not Gonna Take It” moment made me laugh.
  6. You guys heard of this Spielberg fella? He makes good movies.
  7. I haven’t really seen E.T., Close Encounters of the Third Kind, Schindler’s List…etc.
  8. My preschool had like a… “sleepover movie night” sorta thing when I was a kid where they showed E.T., but I remember practically none of it.
  9. I have seen The Terminal. Spielberg made me like a movie about a guy living in an airport.
  10. Ready Player One is fun. I definitely thought it was gonna be dumb, action nonsense with lots of references, but it had more substance than I was expecting.

Meaningless Score: 7/10

Leave a comment